There’s No Room For Kira – BUT LET’S BRING IN MORE WHITE MEN

WARNING: THERE WILL BE SPOILERS ABOUT TEEN WOLF 

Back in April I wrote a post about what happened to Arden Cho on Teen Wolf. Originally I wasn’t planning on writing a follow-up, and even when the trailer for season 6 was released I didn’t think of writing one, because I had already done so. But the fact is that there is new information, new information that made me angrier than I already was.

Here’s the thing. Back when I wrote my post it sounded like Ian Bohen would return to the show, though it wasn’t official yet. Now the trailer for season 6 was released at San Diego Comic Con a few weeks ago, and Ian Bohen was in it. In my last post I already ranted about how vile Bohen is (he’s sexist, degrading, victim-blames and publicly humiliated Arden and basically bullied her), so let’s not go there again (though boy do I want to). Kira, Arden’s character, was written off the show, because there was no room for her. Yet they brought back Peter Hale, a white man who brought nothing to the show after season 1 and whose story should’ve been wrapped up after that season.

At Comic Con it was also revealed that Cody Christian was coming  back (NO offence to Cody, really, he’s a talented actor and he seems like a nice guy). Now Cody is half Native American, but he’s white-passing and it wouldn’t surprise me if the higher ups at Teen Wolf have no clue about his ethnicity. And even though Cody himself isn’t entirely white, his character is. Like I pointed out in my previous post, Kira was the only non-white main character besides Scott. And don’t even get me started on how they’re treating him. What is his role going to be in season 6? I have no idea, because the trailer revealed nothing. Look, I’m the first to admit I’m Stydia trash so that trailer made me happy with all the Stydia, but we barely saw Scott and what was he doing? Why is the show once again focussing on Stiles? (don’t get me wrong I love Stiles) I really hope the trailer is misleading and is going to focus on its actual protagonist. It’s Teen Wolf, not Teen Human. Scott literally died last season, but we don’t see him dealing with that except for the one episode after it happens. He had a terrible relationship with his father, who left him and his mother, then came back in season 4 only to never be brought back. I get that the actor might be unavailable, but than mention him. He already left once, show us Scott dealing with his father once again abandoning him. Show us Scott dealing with everything he’s been through. Show us Scott learning what it means to be a True Alpha, because honestly I still don’t really know? They could’ve explored that more. Point is, they need to focus more on Scott and remember who their protagonist is.

Anyway, back to Kira. To make matters even worse, from the trailer we can tell that Cody’s character Theo is brought back from the dead/hell/wherever he was (yes see they’re literally bringing him back from hell BECAUSE HIS STORYLINE WAS OVER but there’s no room for Kira) with Kira’s sword, the one she used to defeat Theo, to drag him to hell. Which she only could have done by making a deal with the Skinwalkers. See, at the end of season 5 Kira went to the Skinwalkers for help, and they gave her that power to bring Theo down in return for her staying with them for who knows how long, until she got her powers under control. So that sacrifice was all for nothing. Talk about disrespectful towards Kira. Also why the hell didn’t she take her sword with her?? 

That’s not all, though! Before I wrote my previous post it was already announced that there would be a new supporting character, who, surprise, is a white man.

So there was no room for Kira, but let’s bring in three white(-passing) men, of whom two already had their storylines finished and another who is probably going to be incredibly irrelevant (you know like Jordan-I’m-The-Only-One-Who-Can-Defeat-The-Beast-But-In-The-End-I-Didn’t-Do-Shit-And-If-Had-Been-Removed-From-The-Plot-Nothing-Would-Change-Parrish). Meanwhile Kira’s story was far from over. She was still learning about being a Kitsune and her powers, she had to learn how to control said powers and we never saw her realise that she was going to live like 900 years and outlive everyone she loves (I’m not sure about her mom, they said that Kira is the Kitsune now and her mom isn’t anymore? It was very confusing, at least to me, but even if her mom is still immortal as well, she’s going to outlive her dad, boyfriend and friends) and coming to terms with that. But let’s literally drag villains back from the dead (Peter (Ian Bohen) was brought back from the dead in season 2, by emotionally manipulating a teenage girl and basically being a creepy pedophile like sit back back in your grave son) and introduce more white(-passing) men!

Oh and guess what, another new supporting male character has been announced! Though thankfully he isn’t white, though I’m not sure how I feel about him being Asian either. It’s like Teen Wolf is saying ‘well we can’t have more than one on the show!’ (not counting Kira’s parents. Also I really wonder how they’re going to treat him? Besides Mason and Hayden I’m 99%  sure all the other non-white supporting characters are dead). He’s even going to be a Lacrosse player, like Kira was. They’re literally replacing her with a male character.

So to sum up: Kira, an amazing Japanese female character; one of the three main girls; one of the only few girls we even still had on the show, was written off. And they replaced her with not one, not two, not three, but FOUR male characters, of which two are white and one white-passing.

I could make a lot more points, but I feel like I’m repeating my previous post and repeating the points I’ve already made in this one. I’m just furious at the sexism and racism going on behind the scenes and it’s hard to even write down my thoughts properly because I’m just just ugh. So I’m going to leave you with the gem that is Tyler Posey:

LOOK AT JEFF DAVIS’ (man sitting behind Tyler, he’s the showrunner) UNCOMFORTABLE LAUGHTER. DRAG HIM TYLER

Michelle is an 19-year old book and writing blogger who blogs at The Writing Hufflepuff, where she also talks about personal things and other interests. You can also tweet her at @writingbadger.

One thought on “There’s No Room For Kira – BUT LET’S BRING IN MORE WHITE MEN

Have your say

