Britain, I’m not impressed.

(Disclaimer: these are my personal opinions and this is a rant, so sorry if I disagree with you and please feel free to correct me if I’m really offensive. This is not meant to be a dig at leave voters, and I will not hold it against you if you voted leave.)

For any of you who didn’t know, I’m British, and last night was the infamous EU referendum. This basically meant ‘the general public’ had to vote on whether or not to leave the EU (European Union). And I’m certainly not impressed with the result.

The results of the vote were incredibly close, with an utterly miniscule difference of about 4% as the results pointed to around 48% remain and 52% leave. Unfortunately for me, and the many other people who supported the Bremain campaign, Nigel Farage’s Brexit campaign (which quite frankly sounds like some sort of breakfast cereal and not a serious political campaign) won the vote. The difference is so tiny that a large proportion of the country is getting screwed over in my opinion, but we’ll come into that later. For now, here’s a handy graph showing the results together, courtesy of BBC News:

Home_-_BBC_News

Extremely close, as you can see.

And here’s another graph showing the results split over different areas of the UK (also from BBC News:

eu ref

I’m disappointed in Yorkshire to be honest

This really does show how the vote varied throughout Britain, with Scotland, Northern Ireland and London all voting majority remain. Sensible places, if you ask me.

Now, I hate Nigel Farage – even his name annoys me – so naturally I was not surprised that I supported the opposite campaign to his. Even Donald Trump supported Brexit, and if those two alone aren’t enough to put you off then I don’t know what will! *shrug* Michael Gove – AKA the Guy Who Made My GCSEs Harder – also threatened to resign if we voted remain, but instead we’re now faced with the prospect of him in some high-up place in parliament. So great job there, Britain.

Now, since the results were released this morning, SO MANY THINGS ARE BACKFIRING. The Pound is already losing value (as well as other worldwide currencies), Japan is refusing to trade with us, and don’t even get me started on the whole NHS thing (here’s a video and article that shows it better and proves Farage’s ‘OOPS my bad probs shoulda told you that before you voted but I won now lol bye’ attitude to his campaign). Not only that, but Scotland and Northern Ireland, and apparently even London want to leave the UK and rejoin the EU, and another Scottish referendum is very likely to happen in the near future. Basically, if we’re not careful, it’ll be little old England and even littler Wales on our own to fend for ourselves with our anti-immigrant views. Which is obviously just what we want, right Nigel?

So basically the UK is going down the drain, and mostly due to loads of immigrant-hating old people voting leave, because they seem to forget that immigration helps our economy and shall I mention who a large proportion of our medical staff are??? A few of my friends are immigrants or have parents/ other family members who are, and as far as I know they’re doing no harm, other than they don’t fit Farage’s white, British agenda. Because, you know, ‘traditional values’ and all that (ignoring all the bits about acceptance because pfffft, no one needs thaaaaat, right?). In fact, here’s a little thing that explains that concept of acceptance that some leave voters/campaigners just can’t seem to grasp:

13483032_10157240504820413_4476549568419526266_o

“We can keep at it” but apparently not

But despite all this, I think the thing I’m most scared about is my own future, and the future of the rest of my generation. It’s going to hit us the hardest – with university and housing fees likely to skyrocket, not to mention the prices of everything else, and the fact we won’t be able to properly leave for up to another 5 years (probably). A large proportion of people that voted leave were in older generations, and naturally they’re probably going to die sooner than us lot that’ll have to deal with the consequences for a lot longer.

Studying and/or working abroad will be more difficult and more expensive, living costs are going to be tremendously huge, and if we can’t go to uni then who’ll be the future doctors, teachers, business owners, eh? In the end we’re all worse off, and that’s the horrible part.

Nigel Farage can keep his racist views to himself – this is my future being affected, my life, and I’m terrified.


Elly

Personal blog: A Hufflepuff’s Thoughts | Twitter: @badgerunicorn | Instagram: @egb1708 | Pinterest: @badgerunicorn

19 thoughts on “Britain, I’m not impressed.

    • Elly says:

      Yeah, it’s so sad. I have, however signed the petition that is calling for a re-vote because it was so close, and it’s reached over 100,000 signatures so the government have to debate it, SO THERE IS STILL HOPE! Also are you a fellow Yorkshire buddy??????

      Like

  1. emislost says:

    Very well put, Elly. I totally agree with all of this and you’ve summed it up better than I ever could. I am terrified too – who knows what the future will hold and how much of a mess our country will be in. Not even my parents can understand why I am so annoyed at the prospect of leaving, despite voting remain themselves, they just think I should be ‘more mature’ and ‘get over it’ in stead of allowing myself to get worked up about how everything is going to go downhill and my future hangs in the balance of a government that is divided and falling apart. I think it’s hard for adults to sympathise with our situation as when they were growing up, things were a lot more stable, let alone their exams were are lot less hard than ours for one thing. I could rant forever about this but I’ll spare you the trouble of reading my rant!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Elly says:

      Honestly, Em, feel free to rant anytime!
      Thank you so much for your comments, and I agree it’s so annoying to be told your views don’t count. Heck, someone I know laughed at me when I was saying how terrified I am. 😦
      Our country was bad enough. Ugh.
      x

      Liked by 1 person

      • emislost says:

        You’re welcome, it really is – that’s awful! You’d be mad not to be terrified in my opinion ; after all no one knows what will happen in the mext few months and years. *infinite amount of ugh’s* x

        Like

  2. Michelle @ The Writing Hufflepuff says:

    Well said Elly. I really hope the second referendum will be held. Judging by how many people are regretting their Leave vote it looks like Remain would win the second time around. Also I read that beforehand Nigel Farage had said that if Remain won by a small margin, he’d want a second referendum. Well, it would only be fair to get a second referendum the other way around, right? Also my mom was going on about Nigel Farage’s name yesterday as well. ‘His name says everything’ haha. I don’t even understand why people would trust him? Look at his face. Look at his eyes and smile. Everything about him screams DISHONEST CAN’T BE TRUSTED RUN AS FAR AWAY AS YOU CAN

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lisa says:

    You’re right the percentage was tiny, but here’s a thought for you, if the voting had gone the other way, would the tiny percentage not have mattered to you because you had won? I for one am sick and tired of sore losers moaning on about it. It’s called democracy in action, we lost, get over it and start to make the best of a bad situation!

    Like

  4. The Storyteller says:

    What angers me is that loads of people didn’t understand what the EU is so they didn’t know what they were voting for. The campaigners on BOTH sides didn’t help people understand it either, they were just so hooked up on getting people to vote their way. Bad move, politicians! If the percentage was more along the lines of 60/40 then I think people would be more accepting of the outcome. But a lot of leave voters now regret their choice dice Farage has come out saying that some of his promises will not be fulfilled.

    Liked by 1 person

Have your say

