An Emasculating Relationship

I am sure at least some of you are at least familiar with the name Matt Healy. I am sure that at least some of you are fans of The 1975, and the rest of you I am sure for those few months had the song Chocolate on their playlists, claiming that they were now into “alternative”‘ music (yes, I was part of this crowd).

I am also sure that all of you – unless you have lived under a rock, or are just seriously in denial – have also heard the name Taylor Swift pop up at least a few times, maybe you have even had one of her songs on repeat, or if you are like me, all of them on repeat since the day you discovered her.

Now, you wouldn’t think Matt Healy – the lead singer in the alternative band The 1975 – would have any correlation with the queen of pop herself, Taylor Swift. But, before there was any rumours about Taylor Swift and Calvin Harris, there was rumours about Taylor and Matt possibly being a new item on the rise. This all – presumably – started after she mentioned his band a few times and was seen at on of his concerts. 

With Taylor now into her second year of what seems to be a very stable relationship, you wouldn’t think these rumours would be addresses. But, in a recent interview with NME the singer was asked about the rumours, and not so gracefully debunked them. He started off on the right path, stating that he finds it funny how these rumours are only still being addressed because of the fact that she is Taylor Swift, but then things took a very sharp turn for the worse when he was asked if he was scared he will lose himself when/if he enters a relationship. 

“Yeah. Absolutely. And the reason I mention that is because if I had gone out with Taylor Swift I would’ve been, ‘F***ing hell! I am NOT being Taylor Swift’s boyfriend’. You know, ‘F***. THAT.’ That’s also a man thing, a de-masculinating, emasculating thing”. 

Yes you read that right.  He truly believes that having a girlfriend who is more successful then him, would have taken away from his masculinity. As if we are back in the 1800’s when it was only the men who could work and it would be embarrassing for the man in the occasion that he couldn’t work, or if  – when women were eventually given the opportunity to work – his wife’s salary was greater than his. 

All I have to say, is that if this is how he sees women and this is how he would have treated her, I am glad she found Calvin Harris and didn’t end up dating him.

Sydney Xx

5 thoughts on “An Emasculating Relationship

  1. Danie Roberts says:

    Love that you pointed this out! Matt Healy has always bothered me with how he acts like he’s above everyone, and this comment confirmed that he’s just really into bashing. Glad you showed some light on this subject 🙂

    -Danie raniedoberts.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sydney says:

      Thanks! I have never really had an opinion on him, I mean I knew some of his songs were pretty sexist but I never really knew about him enough to make an opinion but when I saw this I got quite annoyed

      Like

Have your say

