Why I (Kinda) Gave Up Social Media For Lent

OK, I am so flippin’ annoyed right now because I had a decent 50% of a post written and I ONLY ACCIDENTALLY DELETED IT ALL.

Hmph. #FirstWorldProblems. 

Oh well. Anyway, I *finally* have reappeared on here to explain why I am quitting some social media for Lent (or, in the case of Instagram, why I’m not). I’ve only ever given something up for Lent once before (Facebook the year before last) – I’m not religious, but I think it’s a good chance to try and cut down a bad habit while having a specific length of time to focus on. I wouldn’t say I’m addicted to social media, but I do use it to procrastinate quite a lot and as I use it to promote my blog, I’m on more platforms than most of my friends. So this year, I decided to follow the school chaplain’s advice and try cutting down. (My friends and I are also giving up swearing by trying to replace swear words with pomegranate and donating 20p to charity for every swear word, but that’s for another post…)

I’ve decided to quit Facebook (excluding automatic WordPress posts and Messenger), Twitter (except automated IFTTT/WordPress tweets) and Snapchat. I was going to get rid of Instagram too, but then I was talking to a couple of friends about my favourite accounts and I realised how much I actually like it – good photos make me happy and, as Hannah Gale mentioned in a post that I annoyingly can’t link because I’m on my phone, it makes me appreciate the little things in life more – a pretty sunsent, the way the bare branches of a tree look against a bright sky, a pretty shop display. And don’t even get me started on how much more I appreciate book covers now I’m aware of bookstagram…

 

That accidental colour coordination though.


The point is, Insta has made me appreciate the beauty of everyday things more, and has inspired me to put effort into taking pretty photos. Facebook, however, was just sucking me into a bottomless pit of funny photos and procrastination. So far, I’m doing OK cutting it out. I still reach for my phone when I want to kill time or am trying to procrastinate, but now I’ll either go on Instagram, which often provides genuine enjoyment and inspiration, WordPress, which I’d rate as much more worthwhile, or I’ll reach for a book. In fact, maybe I’ll start carrying a book around with me more…
So overall, to conclude this long, rambly and fairly pointless post, I’m cutting out *some* social media because although I wouldn’t say I’m addicted, I do think it’s taking up too much of my time and if I’m going to procrastinate, I may as well do it in a way that makes me happier – by reading a good book or looking at pretty photos. 

There’s just something about this that makes my soul happy.

 What, if anything, are you giving up for Lent, and what are your thoughts on social media? 

An Overthing Teenager

Blog | Instagram Twitter 

3 thoughts on “Why I (Kinda) Gave Up Social Media For Lent

  1. I'm a Zalfie Fanatic says:

    I’m not giving anything up for lent, I’m not religious & I guess I couldn’t keep up to it anyway. Quitting social media is such an amazing idea – it’ll give you that time to breathe that we all need. When you come back on you’ll enjoy it loads more anyway💗

    Like

Have your say

