2015 in Review

Hey guys!

Can you believe that 2015 is nearly over? It feels like it’s gone so fast! So much has happened this year, and for our final posts we decided to take a trip back down memory lane and look at some of the major events that happened this year.

I decided that I wanted to talk about the legalization of Same Sex Marriage in both the USA and in Ireland, because it wasn’t a topic we really covered in much detail on this blog. I live in England, where Same Sex Marriage has been legal since 2013. For me, that in itself is a bit ridiculous, because although I myself am not gay, I still believe that love is love, and it shouldn’t matter who you wish to marry.

As I’m sure you’ll remember from earlier on this year, Same Sex Marriage was legalized nationwide across the USA and I think that this was such a great thing to happen, because people were finally being treated as equals. People were allowed to marry their loved ones in a country where this topic had been almost ignored for too long.

Same Sex Marriage was only legalized in the Republic of Ireland in November of this year, just over a month ago. The difference here was that it was down to a popular vote. The referendum result showed that 62% voted yes to the legalization of Same Sex Marriage, and 38% voted no. The result was such a massive thing, because Ireland is a country that has been dominated by the Catholic church, so although it is a religious country, the people wanted change and that’s what happened.

Both the USA and Ireland are religious countries, and I can see why Same Sex Marriage took a while to become legal, but at the same time, I don’t think religion should determine whether two people are allowed to marry or not. I mean, I understand that marriage is traditionally a religious ceremony but still! Surely someone’s happiness is of a higher importance than whether they are marrying a man or a woman?

In Northern Ireland, Same Sex Marriage is still not legal, making it the only country in the British Isles that has not legalized it. Of course, there are still numerous countries around the world that have not legalized Same Sex Marriage. For example, South Africa is the only African country where Same Sex Marriage is recognized. And there are many more countries where homosexuality itself is still illegal.

How are we still living in a world where this form of discrimination still exists? It’s nearly 2016. It’s about time we start changing. It angers me when people say that they believe in equality but they don’t agree with Same Sex Marriage, or they disagree with feminism, or they’re racist… In my opinion, if anyone says something like that then they don’t truly understand what equality and equal rights mean.

Rant over.

-The Storyteller

Blog ~ The Storyteller | Twitter ~ @_WhenInDoubt_ | Instagram ~ @janetbargmann

4 thoughts on “2015 in Review

  1. Appletaile says:

    It doesn’t mean equality, but I think the legalisation of same sex marriage is a really great step towards it. It was nice to see (a traditionally religious) country vote it in, especially because I feel religious reasons are often put forward against same sex marriage? But, yeah. Even if it wasn’t my own country, I’m so happy about this progress!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Luna Cooler says:

    It’s kinda hard to call myself a feminist because of same sex marriage. I still do, and I’m bisexual, but one thing I think people should do is when a religion says no same sex marriage, they have to understand the beliefs and theology behind it. I am not saying that people should use a religion’s beliefs to determine the law, but we can’t automatically label someone a bigot. It always makes me feel excluded when I join a convo with feminists and they say, “You can’t be with us, you bigot, because you have a religion.” You didn’t really say that, but I just want to put my view out there as a religious bisexual. It’s hard for me to identify with my fellow LGBTs because my sexuality hasn’t been a problem for me (until now). Also, there is literally no space for me in the gay rights vs religious rights debate. You know how a gay couple goes to a baker and the baker says he/she can’t make the wedding cake due to religious reasons? It seems to me that the LGBT rights activists automatically say it is discrimination. But wait. Some religions say you can’t contribute to homosexual acts, and making the cake is contributing. What about freedom of religion? Then there was the #LoveWins thing, and I know Supreme Court said religions didn’t have to participate, but…uh, what am I supposed to do while everyone is celebrating? Whenever LGBT comes up in a conversation, this childhood feeling that no one wants to play with me resurfaces. 😦

    Like

    • The Storyteller says:

      I understand where you’re coming from. My best friend is gay and she is a Christian. I didn’t want to come across as rude or discriminate those who are religious because I also have family members who are Christian so I respect their choice but this post was about my personal opinions on the topic and I think that religion shouldn’t come into who you love. I think one can still believe in their religion and also be a part of the LGBT community because they can show that not everyone who is religious has the same beliefs towards certain topics, if that makes sense?

      Like

Have your say

