The One About University

Hey guys!

I haven’t been here for a while… I apologize for that! I’ve been very busy with finishing my first semester at university and making sure my assignments were all handed in in time, and that got me thinking about this week’s post. We are currently on a free theme, and I wanted to talk about whether or not university is still relevant to people today.

In my family, university was something that was always talked about as being a good thing, and it was expected that my brother, sister and I would all go to university. That’s just how I was brought up, and in my eyes, there was never an alternative option other than going to university.

It was only when I was in Year 9 (age 14) when I realized that there were other options out there. Year 9, in the UK is the year before we do our GCSE exams, and it’s when teachers and careers advisers start talking to you about what you want to do after school. At least that’s what they did in my school. They started talking about apprenticeships or going to college to specialize in hairdressing or animal care or whatever,  and there were so many things available for young people that wasn’t university.

Even when I was 14 my plan was to study English at university. After these talks, I still wanted to go to university, because that had always been the way for me. If you read my blog posts over August about my A-level results, you’ll know that it wasn’t exactly easy for me to get into university, but I managed to get a place and I couldn’t be happier.

But the point I’m trying to make is that university isn’t for everyone. I made a friend at university and she just missed her family too much, even though she was about 40 minutes away from home. So, she dropped out and now she’s an apprentice chef.

If you take anything from this post, just remember that if you’re unsure about your future, or if you’re unsure about going to university, then talk to teachers, students, parents- just make sure that they’re not pressuring you to do something you don’t want to. There’s no problem with taking a gap year to really think about what you want your future to be.

I can only talk from my experiences as an English student studying at an English university, but wherever you go, you don’t want to be spending so much money on fees when you’re not even sure if the course is something you want to do for the rest of your life.

It’s okay to be selfish every so often, and at the end of the day, if your parents are pushing you to go to university when you don’t want to, your happiness should be their priority.

I hope this helped!

-The Storyteller

Blog ~ The Storyteller | Twitter ~ @_WhenInDoubt_

One thought on “The One About University

Have your say

