Influential Teens: Rowan Blanchard

I’m baaack! This time around our topic was influential teens, which we were typically drawing from the Times list of top influential teens of this year. If any of you read my blog, you will already know how much I love Rowan Blanchard, so it will come as no surprise that when I saw her name on the list I did a little shriek, a dance, and chose her.

Rowan Blanchard is a 14 year old actress who plays the role of Riley Matthews on Disney’s Girl Meets World. But, she shines just as much off screen as she does on.

At only fourteen – an age where most girls are more worried about there hair and how to act in front of their newest crush – she is speaking out about international problems and giving rise to things she believes should change. She is a proud feminist and chooses to use her platform from her show, to speak out about such problems and educate her audience Β – something that a young star of her age has never quite done before. She has already spoken at the UN and the US National Committee’s annual conference about feminism and the HeForShe campaign. Hard to believe she is one 14, isn’t it?

After hearing some of these facts – among many others that were not listed – it is not hard to understand why Time magazine would put her on this list. What I think is truly amazing, is that she is educated the younger generations (which follow her on instagram and twitter because of her Disney start status) long before they will ever learn about it in school. Those younger generations who look up to her, will now grow up learning about today’s issues from one of their biggest idols, and she is starting them from a young age. I started watching Disney channel at age 9 I believe, most are even younger than that. At age nine, I had no idea what feminism was. I had no idea gun violence was a thing. I had no idea what human rights were.

Now, some may argue that young children should not be learning about this yet and that it is too much for their innocent young minds to handle. Me, on the other hand, think it is the perfect time. At this age, they have no stereotypes. They haven’t developed there own opinions. They are wildly more accepting than most adults. So, if they grow up hearing about these issues, about what needs to be done and about what and about tearing down the stereotypes, don’t you think they will make wonderful citizens and world leaders some day? I do.

What do you think? Have you ever heard of Rowan?

Sydney Xx

10 thoughts on “Influential Teens: Rowan Blanchard

  1. Luna Cooler says:

    I read Rowan’s speech and I think it is great. I’m pretty glad that she mentioned other experiences as significant points in her speech, which is something that Emma Watson didn’t do as much. The thing here is, I wish she’d expanded more on other kinds of oppression (like race and sexuality and class and religion), since they’re all intertwined with gender and each other. The sexism I get might not be the same sexism you get, or the sexism she gets–and the feminist movement is only beginning to accommodate that. Because there are kids who do believe in equal rights but may not be able to identify much with the feminists who are getting the spotlight, they might shy away from feminism because it doesn’t seem to reflect their struggles. I actually joined feminism because I didn’t see my struggles reflected and I wanted to fix that issue. Sometimes it feels like I am all alone in the feminist movement. I sure would like a few buddies.
    BTW, you sure must have been a lucky nine year old not to have heard of these issues. I’m a bit surprised, though. Kids these days are experiencing these issues firsthand so that when an adult tries teaching them, it’s not new. That was the same thing for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sydney says:

      I completely agree! Rowan usually speaks about that too, human rights and such, it was just in that speech she did not have the time I guess? If you follow her on instagram and twitter you will see that she talks about that stuff too! I completely agree though, sexism changes in every country and that is something that should be spoken of more! I was lucky I guess! I mean I some what knew that women and men weren’t treated equally, but I didn’t know the entire concept or the term feminism or anything like that!

      Like

      • Luna Cooler says:

        I was surprised about the gun violence part! When I was eight to eleven years old, I kept a spy book. I got really freaked about gun violence and so I spied on people (did not stalk them; I was just extremely observant when they were around). I noted any traumatic experiences or abuse they mentioned or made it clear through their actions and looks that they experienced it. I wrote down everything I knew about a person and tried finding any weird patterns or signs that they were getting violent. I did this as a spy because I knew that violent folks often don’t want help, but I wanted to help them and the people around them so no one could get hurt. To reach out to the suspicious guys, I’d try help them in small ways. Luckily, they weren’t considering violence much.
        This is a very creepy approach, though. I don’t know if you should do this.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sydney says:

        That sounds really interesting! Hahaha yeah I am not sure I would recommend this to anyone who isn’t proffesionally trained for such things, just in case something were to happen!

        Like

    • Sydney says:

      Thanks! Yeah most people haven’t heard of her, which I why I chose to talk about her! She is a Disney actress, so unless you watch Disney channel or follow Teen Vogue, you probably wouldn’t have heard about her! I completely agree!

      Liked by 1 person

Have your say

