Sex-Ed : Important or Not?

Sexual Education. Is it something that should be taught in school? Is it okay to leave information out? Should we change the information we give out based on age and religion? Should we leave it up to the parents completely? Over the past few years, all these questions  – and many more – have risen up to the surface and been circulating, reappearing to the public eye more obviously every once in a while.

When I was in primary school, we were supposed to have sex-ed in class (there was supposed to be a unit in health class for it) from the age 11 until we graduate, and then it continues on in High School, if you continue to take a physical education class. Emphasis, in the first sentence, on *supposed* to. The problem was that it is not an enforced unit to teach, so it is the lowest of (most) of the teachers priority. Luckily, in my last year of primary, we had a new health teacher and she dedicated a large portion of our health classes so that we had at least the base knowledge.

Most teachers, do not care. Most education systems, do not find it important enough, so leave out the unit completely. Unfortunately, there are also some parents who either simply do not speak to their children about the subject (either they believe it is taught in school or maybe they just believe their child will figure out on their own) or they do not believe in it. Which, when you combine all of these factors, leaves the students fairly confused and not prepared. At. All.

There are a few different beliefs that arise when the topic comes up. Some believe that it should not be taught in school, that it should be solely the parents job. Some believe that it should be partially taught in school, but heavier subjects should be left for the parents. Some believe that it should all be taught in school. Then there are those who believe that it should be faith based education.

No matter which the government decides, there will still be people who are angered by the decision.

Personally, I believe it should all be taught in school. I think that sexual education, starting right before they start puberty (so probably starting to learn the basics around age ten) will be so greatly beneficial. As a teen, growing up is already hard enough, so by teaching the basics first in school, it will minimize the “is this normal” teen anxiety.

As they grow older, safe sex – in my eyes – is a must to teach. Most parents truly want to believe that their child will not have sex until they are the right age (the problem with this is, there is no set age, it all depends on the parents). They believe this so much, that they regret to inform their children about safe sex, possibly until it is too late. The outcome will be the same if the school teaches it based on religion (which, in most if not all cases, means waiting until marriage). In both situations, the “safe sex” talk is completely neglected.

Without discussing birth control, or safe sex at all, pregnancies, STD’s and so much more might happen, which could and should have been prevented. How many people actually know that to be safe you should most likely use more than one birth control? How many people knew that no birth control is 100% guarantee? Who knew that the birth control pill does so much more than just prevent pregnancy?

There are so many questions left lingering on students’ minds which could easily be avoided. So many situations occur which could have been avoidable if the conversations were had.

I have shared my beliefs and opinions on the situation, so what are yours?

—–

Just because it is my first post, I thought I would say hi! I am Sydney and I am the newest feminista so you will be hearing from me ever other Wednesday! I am always open for feed back, questions, concerns, so please feel free to speak up! My main blog is Love Sydney if you would like to see more of my posts/just creep me (Hahaha we all do it, just admit it). This session was free, so I decided to talk about the importance of sex ed in schools because it is subject so largely debated in our modern day world I thought I would share my thoughts and maybe you could share yours as well?

Sydney Xx

8 thoughts on “Sex-Ed : Important or Not?

  1. Luna Cooler says:

    According to the book Modern Misogyny: Anti-Feminism in a Post-Feminist Era (by Kristin J. Anderson), studies showed that teenagers who were taught comprehensive sex education were actually less likely to get pregnant, less likely to have unprotected sex, less likely to get STDs, and more likely to have sex much later. Teenagers who were taught abstinence-only education were actually more likely to have more sex partners, more likely to get pregnant, and were not more likely to abstain from sex than the students taught comprehensive sex education. Eighty eight percent of teenagers who took virginity pledges broke the virginity pledge and had premarital sex. So comprehensive sex education doesn’t encourage teenagers to have sex. Abstinence-only education is found to have numerous scientific errors, and sometimes it teaches that boys are more important than girls.
    I’m Catholic, and the Catholic Church teaches that sex education should only be taught by the parent at home (although some Catholic schools teach sex education). It also doesn’t allow contraception/safe sex or premarital sex. But I researched what the Catholic Church had to say on the statistics showing that comprehensive sex education has a way better effect. I couldn’t find anything! I’ve chosen not to have sex before marriage (not married), but I’m a bit concerned about how the Church sometimes remains painfully silent on studies that contradict or pose a threat to the credibility of its teachings. I am a devout Catholic but also a feminist. So I’m conflicted here.

    Like

      • Luna Cooler says:

        I’m conflicted because these days it’s hard to be a Catholic feminist (but I think it’s still possible because during the times of the early church, more women had more opportunities to be in positions of authority and the church does say that men and women are equal). My religion strongly advises against many of the things that a lot of feminists are actively fighting for. Like abortion, gender nonbinary, etc. And some feminists (who don’t really seem to understand the Church’s theology) say I’m not a real feminist because of this. 😦

        Like

      • Sydney says:

        Oh I see! Of course you can still be a feminist, you just won’t be fighting for all the same rights as other people because you may not believe in them. There is no problem with that, not all feminists believe in all of the rights anyways and I am sure many of them have tweaked it to suit their needs and beliefs! I hope this helped a little?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Appletaile says:

    Great post! I mean, I know that many of my friends — and also myself — feel awkward talking about sex & puberty at school, but I think it’s so important to understand these topics. We’ve pretty much only done the biological side of pregnancy at school. Most of what I know is from the internet. (Small me absolutely detested conversations with my mum about puberty, haha.)
    I was actually thinking about this the other day! I’d been following a petition about LGBTQ+ sex ed in the UK, and the response linked to a very long document listing things which I definitely not have been taught. *sighs*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Leah says:

    you’re definitely asking the right questions here, Sydney! I’m actually in university right now studying to teach sex ed, because I believe it is so so important to give people enough accurate knowledge to make their own informed decisions. In fact, right now I’m working on a research paper about the effects of comprehensive education on rates of teen pregnancy in North America!
    Did you know that at the moment only 19 states require that sex ed be medically accurate – IF they decide to offer it at all! The way we are taught about sex so often brings about feelings of shame about perfectly natural parts of human life, including our bodies, and those feelings carry into adult life in ways that are really harmful. I’m really happy to see that there are people out there like you questioning that system.
    Great post! – Leah

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sydney says:

      Aww thank you! That is incredible that you are studying to teach it, you are absolutely doing the right thing! Thank you for your encouragement, I completely agree! Xx

      Like

Have your say

