The Tampon Tax Thing

Hey guys!

Before I start, I just want to say, please be prepared for another rant from me. Because I can tell even now that this is gonna be a long one. Also, please look out for sarcasm.

Okay. So. Blokes. I don’t really know if this is going to be of any interest to you. I don’t know what you’re going to have to say about this post. I wouldn’t be surprised if you just stopped reading halfway through. Why? Because it’s about something that isn’t a necessity to you.

Ladies. We get this thing called a period every month. So we kinda need tampons/pads (I’m just going to say sanitary products because that’s easier). Now is it just me, or does the idea of putting a tax on a necessity seem pretty… I don’t know… freaking stupid? 

Because that’s what’s happened in the UK. The government has recently decided to reject the tampon tax challenge, as it’s being called, in a vote which “would have forced a negotiation with the EU for a reduction in the 5% VAT rate”. It’s absolutely ridiculous that women need to pay so much money for something that is so important, yet there are so many other products out there that don’t have a tax on them which should do so… like… why? I don’t get it. It doesn’t make any sense.

I often wonder if it’s because there are so few female MP’s in parliament… not just because of this whole Tampon Tax thing, but generally. There are more men in parliament anyway, and historically politics has been more of a male dominated area. So does the Tampon Tax thing exist because there are not enough female politicians in parliament who can really back up the petition (which has reached over 250,000 votes)?

I apologize if I sound like I’m generalizing. Politics isn’t my area, but something needs to be done about this. I don’t think taxing an essential product is really going to do anything when there are so many other products out there that aren’t being taxed and they’re not a necessity.

So here’s my message to the government: get your act together. Stop making your money out of something that women need, and find something else to tax.

-The Storyteller

3 thoughts on “The Tampon Tax Thing

  1. Appletaile says:

    Great post! Oh, I hadn’t realised they’d rejected the petition. I really am sick of this government ughhhhh basically too much of it is Eton old boys
    *smashes keyboard* There’s literally?? No reason to have it?? And there’s honestly so much stigma around periods — a lot of guys seem to think sanitary products are going to, like, infect them or something. :/ We don’t choose to have this; it’s evidently not a luxury.

    Liked by 1 person

Have your say

