The Wage Gap

Hey guys!

I’m afraid this is going to be somewhat of a rant post, so I apologize in advance if I get too over-excited. At the same time, however, it’s something I feel very strongly about.

It’s been 100 years since the Suffragettes got the vote for women, which was an incredible milestone for the whole equality thing between men and women. But why is it that 100 years later, men are still being paid more than women who work in the same job?

I’ve only ever had part-time jobs, so some people might think “this doesn’t affect you, why are you complaining about it?” I’m complaining about it because it is something that will affect me very soon if nothing is done about it now. We’re not just talking about people working office jobs. We’re talking about people who are professionals, people who are at the top of their game, who aren’t being paid equal wages, just because of their gender. That’s not right.

There’s a new film coming out called “Suffragette”, which I hope you’ve all heard of. As the title says, it’s about the Suffragettes, and what they did to get women the vote. At the premier, there were a group of activists who protested, saying that women are still not equal to men, and the wage gap was just one of the things they brought up. And what’s so great is that the actors and actresses were in support of this protest.

I love this interview so much, because it shows exactly the attitude people should be having towards this issue. As Carey Mulligan said, only 22% of parliament is made up by women, and there’s such a huge imbalance which needs to be corrected.

Even in the film industry, when you look at the number of successful male directors and producers there are in comparison to female… the numbers are just ridiculous. If we look at the Academy Awards (i.e The Oscars) how many female directors have actually won in their category compared to men? I urge to to research it because the numbers are absolutely shocking. And it doesn’t end there.

I was sent a link to Jennifer Lawrence’s Facebook page, and for some reason it’s not letting me add the link here, but if you have Facebook I’m sure you’ll be able to find it. Anyway, this quote is from something she said about feminism, and working in the film industry as a woman:

A few weeks ago at work, I spoke my mind and gave my opinion in a clear and no-bullshit way; no aggression, just blunt. The man I was working with (actually, he was working for me) said, “Whoa! We’re all on the same team here!” As if I was yelling at him. I was so shocked because nothing that I said was personal, offensive, or, to be honest, wrong. All I hear and see all day are men speaking their opinions, and I give mine in the same exact manner, and you would have thought I had said something offensive.

We need to be aware of the things going on around us, because it affects all of us. The other lovely ladies who write with me for this blog will be affected. You, reading this right now, will be affected, no matter what gender you are. We need to start standing up for what is right to finally make everyone equal.

-The Storyteller

Blog – The Storyteller | Twitter – @_WhenInDoubt_

12 thoughts on “The Wage Gap

  1. Luna Cooler says:

    I also feel very strongly about the wage gap problem. However, I do take a bit of an issue with how it is represented. For example, there are many feminists out there who claim that women only make seventy six cents if they do the same job as a man who gets paid a dollar. But this is white women who make seventy six cents, not all women. Black women make sixty four cents compared to a white man, and Latinas make fifty five! Asian American women–hey, that’s me–make the smallest wages of all (I’m not sure specifically how much, though). This is why we need intersectional feminism.
    Also, I know the Suffragettes did help women get the vote and that’s important, but I’m a bit worried that this movie will contribute to the dozens of other films and sites that portray the Suffragettes as the quintessential feminists. Many of them weren’t. For example, Elizabeth Cady Stanton was quite racist in her views. During the Suffragette times, the fight for equality was this: black rights vs. women’s rights. And by women’s rights, I mean white women’s rights. Many of them prioritized the struggles of white, middle class women and said women’s rights trumped black rights. And black women, if they participated in the Suffragette movement, would have to go to the back of the crowd. Throughout feminist history, it is white middle class women who have dominated the movement, which is why some women of color don’t identify as feminists. I identify as a feminist because I want to work for better representation of other women. As a working class WoC (woman of color, since I’m of the brown race, which is Filipino) I am concerned about the message that this movie gives out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Storyteller says:

      That’s a good point there! Thanks for the comment 🙂 I see what you mean about the film and it’s an aspect I think not many people really think about as well which is a shame because the point of feminism is equality for everyone regardless of race. At least that’s what it should be.

      Like

Have your say

