My Favourite Charities

Hey guys!

We have come up with the theme of charities for this fortnight. There are so many charities I want to talk about, because I support so many of them, but I have decided to only talk about a couple in full detail.

I very much believe that if we support charities that look out for the planet, then that will be beneficial for everyone, because if we try saving the planet, we can save ourselves in a way. Let me explain. If we keep cutting down all the trees in the rainforests, there will be no oxygen and everyone needs oxygen, so… let’s stop cutting down the trees! I happily retweet and favourite and like things that are posted online by Greenpeace and WWF, because I want to spend the rest of my life in a world where we don’t have to worry about the future of our home.

I recently got a call from Greenpeace, asking if I would be able to donate some money every month, because they are not run by the government. And I felt really guilty when I said no, because at the end of the day I am a student, and I am trying to get by with what I have. However, that doesn’t mean I can’t still support them by doing things like this, and advertising them. I’m sure you’ve all heard of Greenpeace before, but if you want to look further in to what they do, then click here for Greenpeace and here for WWF. I’m a sucker of cute animal pictures, so if you want to see what things you can do to help animals that are in danger, then go and click on those links!

Now, even though I support wildlife charities, that doesn’t mean I don’t care about human rights. Amnesty International is a charity that helps people around the world who have basically been stripped from their human rights, and they work incredibly hard to find justice for these people. Do you remember hearing about the man who was beaten  and imprisoned for blogging about free speech? Raif Badawi is a Saudi Arabian who was doing the exact same thing that I am, right now. I am a blogger, and I have a right to express my opinions, but apparently, Badawi doesn’t. What is the difference between me and this man? The only difference is the societies we live in.

You can help Badawi by signing the petition to help free this man for writing about something he believes in. Alternatively, you can see what else you can do to help people around the world, and you don’t have to pay a single penny if you can’t (if you’re a student like me who has no money but a big heart!) you can simply click on this link to see what else Amnesty get up to and if there is anything you can do to help.

So those are the top three charities that I support. Amnesty International, Greenpeace and WWF. They’re all pretty big names, but as I said there are so many charities that I think do amazing jobs all the time and help so many people around the world. I chose these three because I’m a massive dreamer and I want to save the entire world one day but unfortunately, there is only so much I can do. So by writing about these charities, I hope I have done my bit to help.

-The Storyteller

Blog – The Storyteller | Twitter – @_WhenInDoubt_

Have your say

