UNICEF

Hi everyone! So these next two weeks’ theme is on our favorite charity or charities. I, right now, have only one main charity that I wholeheartedly support. I mean I support other charities but my ears and heart pops up whenever I hear the word/acronym UNICEF.  This post I’ll be talking about how I got into loving them, what they do and what you can do to help and hopefully you’ll support them too!

So I got into UNICEF maybe 6 or so years ago around October. I know it was October because I found out about them (and began to raise money for them) when I heard about their Trick or Treat boxes which I’ll discuss more about later. I loved the boxes and younger me was really happy to be getting money from other people and putting it in the box to be given to UNICEF later. It felt like I was doing something for the world and at my age, that was a powerful thing as no one was going to take my opinion, help and ideas on other things. So the fact that I could somehow contribute in making the world a better place just felt incredibly awesome! And it still does!

Now, what UNICEF does really is help children and women in third-world countries get the medicine, water and education they need to at least survive. That’s pretty huge in my opinion because most people in America and other developed countries who have all the necessities, take them for granted. They don’t realize that there are people out there who have pretty much nothing and that in and of itself is very sad. So I’m incredibly supportive of UNICEF and their efforts.

One pretty fun thing that UNICEF does every October to help raise money is their Trick or Treat boxes. The idea is that on Halloween, instead of going around and filling up a bag or two with candy, you go around and fill up a Trick or Treat box or two (or more…they’re actually pretty small) with money. Then you give them to UNICEF through wherever you got the boxes from. You can get the boxes from your school/university, your religious place maybe Toys R US (it’s random but I think they do the boxes too). I love love love the idea. I haven’t been able to do the boxes for a little while because I just couldn’t find them but this year I’m making sure to at least get one from some place or another and I definitely suggest you do the same. I don’t really trade out candy for money but I do go around throughout the money and try to ask people for money (and throw in some of my own of course). So that’s an option for you guys too. I’m pretty sure everyone at least raises money throughout the month (sometimes in conjunction with the candy trade-off) so don’t worry about feeling weird doing it.

Anyway, if you want to check out more about UNICEF just click here! I hope you take a look at their website at least, see more of what they do and see how easy it is to support them! Thanks, have a great day/night and tata for now!

~Fantasy Angel, Avid Reader

If you want to see/hear more from me, check out my Find Us page and follow me on the social media listed there! See you!

Have your say

