Let’s Talk About The Refugee Crisis

Hey guys!

It’s Janet again, and today, as we are doing another free theme week, I wanted to bring up the situation regarding the Syrian Refugees.

I live in the UK, and therefore it is something that effects me, as well as many other people who live in Europe. I just want to say that this post is simply what I think about the whole situation, and what I think people should do to make it better for everyone else.

Okay… where do I begin?

I’ve heard so many people saying that we shouldn’t accept any refugees (or “immigrants” as some people say) because it’s not our problem. Or that we don’t have enough space in the UK. Or because they can find somewhere else. Or that it’s not that bad, really. What the hell? Like, seriously… what? Why people actually think this is absolutely beyond me and I can’t even being to comprehend why some people are so close-minded. Closed-minded… close..? I don’t know which spelling it is!

But going back to the point. Just imagine this:

Your country is a warzone. Nowhere is safe. You don’t know who to trust, because telling the wrong person the wrong thing at the wrong time could cost you and your family their lives. So the only thing you can do is escape. Take your family and loved ones, and run. Because this is about survival. You’d imagine that your neighbouring countries will try and help to accommodate you, because you have arrived with the clothes you are wearing, and very little else. But what do you do when your neighbouring country won’t let you in? What do you do if they still deny your access even after you’ve told them everything you’ve been through to get there?

The Syrian Refugee Crisis is something that we can’t ignore. They’re not immigrants, they’re innocent people who are running for their lives. They’re escaping to give their children a better future. So why there are still people who think that it’s okay to tell these people to “find somewhere else” angers me so much, because these people clearly don’t know what it’s like to be a refugee. To have nothing. I don’t even know what it’s like, and I am very lucky that I haven’t had to experience the things these people have.

I’ve said before on my own blog that I am a huge fan of Channel 4’s “The Last Leg”, starring Adam Hills, Josh Widdicombe and Alex Brooker, and in their final episode of the season they discussed the whole thing about the refugees. They talked about how the media were saying one thing on Monday, but by Thursday they had changed their views completely, because the image of the young boy on the beach had been released. They said how it’s ridiculous that it’s taken this long for people to finally realise that these are people too, and they need somewhere to go. And I agreed with every single word they had to say.

The video below contains some strong language and adult themes.

What frustrates me more about the whole thing with the boy on the beach is that I’ve heard a number of people blaming the boy’s own father for his death. Come on guys, the man was trying to save his family by getting them out of the conflict. How people can be so rude after not only this boy’s life has been lost, but so many others have been lost is absolutely ridiculous, and I don’t know how people can still be so cruel in this world. I mean, if you skipped watching the video above and carried on reading, then I’ve kind of summed it up. If you have watched it (like the amazing reader I know you are) then the video itself is exactly what I am trying to get across.

So what is the point of this post? Well I hope I’ve made it quite clear, but in case you didn’t get the gist, we need to help these people. Think about the risks you would take if your country was in conflict. Now why are these refugees any different?

-The Storyteller

Blog – The Storyteller | Twitter – @_WhenInDoubt_ 

7 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About The Refugee Crisis

  1. myteenagemadness says:

    Ugh my goodness this has been making me so angry! As a Brit, I’ve been hearing David Cameron saying things about how we’ve taken in some “genuine Syrian refugees” and it makes me sick that we actually voted this erm… scumbag in. Because you know, some Syrian refugees aren’t “genuine”. They’re just lying for the hell of it, because what a fun game *sarcasm sarcasm sarcasm*. I hate that we live in a country that has so much and still behaves so disgustingly to those who are going through absolute HELL. This was a great post, by the way, I’m sorry to rant. X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elm says:

    THEY. ARE. PEOPLE! I was so happy today when my mum said that 20000 refugees had arrived here that I just smiled and smiled, because they’re people. It’s like people are playing a game with them – like this whole thing is a game – when they don’t realise that these people have hearts and feelings and aren’t just pieces on a chess board.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thewritinghufflepuff says:

    Agree 100%. The people who are against helping the refugees disgust me. I know most of us living today weren’t alive during WW2, but we all know the stories, whether we were told them during a history lesson or we heard them first hand from our grandparents. Europe should know better.

    Like

Have your say

