My Thoughts on Mental Health

Hey guys!

It’s Janet again, and for our Mental Health topic, at first I was fairly certain that anxiety was something I wanted to talk about. I personally do not suffer from anxiety. So then I thought… well… where do I start? I know someone who gets really anxious when it comes to travelling on public transport, and I’ve seen what it’s like for them to go through something that a lot of people, myself included, often take for granted. I wanted to take this opportunity to talk to the people who know others who suffer from anxiety.

The thing about mental health is that those who don’t suffer from it, don’t realize how much it can affect someone. I hear people saying “Well, if you just do it, then you won’t be scared of doing it in the future”, or “Seriously, it’s not that bad”, or “Why are you making such a big deal out of nothing?” This is exactly the type of thing you shouldn’t tell people who suffer from anxiety. Yes, it may get frustrating, but try and imagine someone else forcing you to do something you feel really uncomfortable with. And then times that feeling by 10, or 100.

If you know someone who has anxiety, please don’t force them into things. It’s not going to make them feel better- in fact, it’ll probably make them feel worse. As a friend, you should support them, rather than get angry because they can’t do something that you can.

I found this link a while back, where someone explains anxiety for people who may not truly understand it. And I seriously recommend you take a look at it, because I think it sums up what I’m trying to say really well. If you’re a friend of someone who suffers from anxiety, the only thing you have to do is be there for that person. Listen to them. I often think of it this way: if you had a problem, you wouldn’t just want to keep it to yourself- you’d go and talk to someone about it, be it a friend, family member or a doctor. No one likes to be ignored, so make sure you’re not the one who’s doing the ignoring. Especially when it comes to someone with anxiety.

The final thing I wanted to talk about refers to Mental Health in general. I found this video on YouTube, and I seriously recommend you watch it. It talks about “Mental Health Merchandise”, and how it is something which is absolutely disgusting.

*Contains some strong language*

Mental Health is not something that should be advertised in this way. The fact that people are trying to make it seem “cool” is just ridiculous, and I just don’t understand how and why people would fund this merchandise.

So, to sum this all up in one go, if you know someone who suffers from anxiety, or any other form of mental health issues, please just talk to them. Be there for them. Let them know that you’re there to support them whenever they need you. And please, don’t fund companies who sell Mental Health merch!

Thanks for reading.
-The Storyteller

Blog:The Storyteller / Twitter: @_WhenInDoubt_ /

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Mental Health

    • The Storyteller says:

      I know! I think it’s trying to be funny but there’s nothing funny about it. I remember seeing t-shirts saying “dork” and “geek” which I felt was like a similar thing… I mean, they’re often used as words to bully people. *sighs*

      Liked by 1 person

Have your say

