Are Snow White and Cinderella Good Role Models?

Hi everyone, Michelle here! This week we have no theme on the blog, so I had a lot of subjects to talk about going through my head. There are so many things to discuss, that I just couldn’t choose! A few days ago I was thinking about Disney Princesses (which I do on a regular basis, but that’s beside the point) and then I was thinking about how I’ve often heard or read that the older Disney Princesses are not good role models. Is that true though?

Now of course the older princesses do not fight like Mulan and Merida. They do not speak their mind like Tiana. In fact, they’re not very three-dimensional at all (Aurora barely appears in her own movie), but does that really mean they’re not good role models?

Let’s take a look at Snow White first. She lost her mother at a young age, her father remarries the Evil Queen (with emphasis on evil), then loses her father as well, is treated as a slave in her own castle and is then taken to the woods to be killed. Yet Snow White remains kind, even to strangers who she could be suspicious of after all she’s been through

Cinderella is similar to Snow: lost her mother, father remarried an awful woman with two horrid daughters, lost her father and then is treated as a slave in her own home. Yet she too remains kind.

Cinderella and Snow White are to me good role models. They may not fight. They may not speak their mind, but they remain kind. They show young children that things will be better. They give hope.

So why do people think these girls are not good role models? That they’re not strong? Because they’re not physically strong? Strong characters do not have to be strong in physics, they have to be strong in character. And after everything these princesses have been through, how can you say they’re not strong? They kept on living, with a smile on their face.

Kindness is not weakness, kindness is strength. 

Do you agree with me? And who is your favourite Disney Princess? Mine is Belle, but I love them all!

Michelle is an 18-year old book and writing blogger who blogs at The Writing Hufflepuff, where she also talks about personal things and other interests. You can also tweet her at @writingbadger.

23 thoughts on “Are Snow White and Cinderella Good Role Models?

  1. I'm a Zalfie Fanatic says:

    I so totally agree!! Not many people do, and say that Disney princesses show that women need men (prince charming etc) to ‘save’ them. I think they are amazing role models for the exact same reasons as you!! Also, belle is without a doubt my favourite princess!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bridget says:

    I do sort of agree with you here- Snow White and Cinderella show that there’s strength in perseverance, too 🙂 But I do have a pretty big problem with the Snow White story, since it’s basically about pitting women together for petty reasons (ie, the Evil Queen wanting to kill Snow White because Snow is prettier than her). So, the princesses themselves are strong, but the fairy tales contain some pretty negative ideas about women :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • thewritinghufflepuff says:

      Yeah I agree with you on that! I think it was in the original version (not entirely sure, there are so many versions!) that the prince came by her glass coffin and then decided to buy her…? So Snow is (almost) literally objectified. Not to mention why would you want to buy a dead girl?? But that’s a whole other subject haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Elly says:

    Great post, Michelle! I completely agree that kindness can be a form of strength, especially after all these princesses went through!
    What I don’t get is when people put them down for dreaming about marrying a prince. It’s completely normal to wish for things like that, and the fact that their wishes came true is great because they had pretty bad lives before!
    Also, I want the dress from the new Cinderella film, don’t you?! 😝

    Elly xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. myteenagemadness says:

    What a fresh take on some of the Disney characters! I have to say I’d always kind of dismissed them as soppy, male reliant, “perfect” characters who had little to offer as role models, and simply embodied societies misogynistic expectations of what women should be like. This, however, has given me a completely new side to look at. I can’t say I’ve completely abandoned my old ideas, but you’ve definitely made me think differently. Thanks xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. iloveheartlandx says:

    My favourite Disney princess has always been Belle, I could relate to her longing for adventure & love of books! I like your take on Snow White & Cinderella though, I’ve never really thought about them that way before.

    Liked by 1 person

Have your say

