Ginny Weasley: Not A Secondary Feminist

*Warning: Spoilers Ahead*

Ginny Weasley hbp promoWhen this week’s topic of feminist female protagonists came up, I did not immediately think of Ginny Weasley. To be honest it took a bit to think of anyone except Hermione Granger, but I got there and inspiration struck.

I’ve always thought of Ginny Weasley as second to Hermione Granger in terms of being a feminist. However, now, as I think more about it, I’d like to think that Ginny was, in fact, the original feminist in the Harry Potter series. Let’s take a look through some examples and myths together and I’ll show you why:

  1. First reason she was the original feminist started because Ginny is a girl. Of course this meant she was underestimated throughout her entire life, even by her brothers. For example, when she joined the Gryffindor Quidditch team as Chaser, everyone was surprised because she had never been really good when she played with her brothers. She practiced though on her own and went on to become a player for the Holyhead Harpies.
  2. When it came to dating, she wasn’t happy when Ron told her that she dated too many boys. In response she basically said that she wasn’t going to be secretive about it and there was nothing to be ashamed of.
  3. WeasleykidsBeing the youngest of seven and having all her older siblings as brothers meant that she stood up for herself and didn’t let the fact that she was a girl get in the way of anything. She could hex you to China if you picked a fight with her. She was a strong, independent woman who was equal to the boys in strength and she wouldn’t let anyone tell her otherwise.

Something, though, that people think discredits Ginny as being a feminist is that she pined over Harry Potter for years. That my friends and acquaintances does nothing to discredit her being a feminist for several reasons:

  • being a feminist doesn’t mean you are heartless or cold to men; you can still like them. If the former were true then pretty much every woman who says they’re a feminist would be wrong because most everybody isn’t heartless or cold to men. Thus, Ginny can still like Harry Potter and be a feminist.
  • when she realized he didn’t return her feelings, she didn’t hate him or put him down. Instead she dated other people and grew up to be a strong woman that Harry Potter fell for.

So all in all, I believe Ginny is/was the original feminist; she’s a strong, independent woman who believes in being equal to the boys. What do you guys think? Do you think Ginny is the original feminist or not? Let me know what you guys think in the comments below! I want to hear what you guys say! Thanks, have a great day/night and tata for now!

~Fantasy Angel, Avid Reader

If you want to see/hear more from me, check out my Find Us page and follow me on the social media listed there! See you!

22 thoughts on “Ginny Weasley: Not A Secondary Feminist

      • Luna Cooler says:

        Movie Ginny was too shy and too romantic for me, and for a lot of people. She also didn’t really show any emotions either, except for when Voldy says that Harry Potter is dead. Book Ginny, while I’m not a big fan of her character (she’s kinda too brash for me), was bold and cheeky and tough. But that’s not Bonnie’s fault. It’s more on the director’s part. I’m just sharing my opinion here.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Fantasy Angel says:

        Mmm I agree that Movie Ginny was different than Book Ginny πŸ™‚ but she shows emotions! We didn’t see much of her but she showed emotions in both the movie and the book…

        Like

      • Fantasy Angel says:

        In that respect, I think she was portrayed quite well. In the beginning she was as infatuated with Harry as she was in the books and then stayed with her progression of independence as seen in the books…

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Melody says:

    Ooh interesting post! I’ve never thought of it this way before, but your points are so true!
    I don’t think there’s an “original” feminist in the series though, there are lots of ways to be a feminist, and comparing Ginny’s way to Hermione’s or Luna’s or anybody else’s wouldn’t be that fair, I think.
    (Ooh and one more thing…i haven’t bee following things in the HP world recently so this question might sound a bit weird but when did Ginny join the Holyhead Harpies? What are the Holyhead Harpies 0_o ? )

    Liked by 2 people

  2. chroniccacti says:

    I don’t fancy getting into the logistics of it all by scanning every which page of the series but when I think of ‘feminist Hermione’ no instances which show her feminism come to mind… not to say that she’s not! I absolutely think she would be, considering all her other fights for equality! But I would 100% agree that Ginny is the most prominent feminist in the series (even if it’s not a competition haha). I adore the girl to pieces and love everything she stands for! Rock on, Ginny. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ginny says:

    Completely agree. This is one of the reasons that Gin will forever be my favorite literary character. (the boys were shocked at her Quidditch skills because they never let her play with them, not because she was bad.)

    Like

Have your say

