Celaena Sardothien: Assassin With Dresses Suited for the Red Carpet

%22My name is Celaena Sardothien,%22 she-3

 

The only spoilers in this post are already told in the blurb of the first book. 

Hello Michelle here! This time we’re talking about female protagonists. As Hermione was immediately snagged away, and I had already talked about Joss Whedon last time (thus fangirled about Buffy), I decided to go with a relatively new favourite of mine: Celaena Sardothien. If you don’t know who she is, she is the protagonist of the amazing Throne of Glass series and if you haven’t read it yet, go read it right now! No, scratch that: read this post first.

The reason Celaena is so amazing, is because she is human. She isn’t just a tough, bad-ass assassin (which she is), she has her moments where she breaks down (and she breaks down badly), where she cries and lets out all of her frustrations, anger and grief. She likes frilly dresses and cute animals and reading. She wants to look good. She is relatable and realistic (when I say relatable I’m not talking about the assassin part. Don’t worry guys, I’m not an assassin, promise) and she grows stronger through each book. This doesn’t mean that she no longer shows any weaknesses. She still does. Because she is not a killing machine -even though I’m sure her mentor would have loved her to be – she is just a girl. A girl who wants to live.

I think Celaena is a great role model for teenage girls and women all over the world (also for younger girls, but since the books are not suited for a young age…). Nowadays people often feel like strong woman characters are supposed to be literally strong. They’re not supposed to be rescued by men, they can’t show their feelings. Wearing dresses? Caring about your appearance? Liking pretty things? While you’re an assassin? Celaena proves these people wrong. You can kick ass and still look good. You can be a girl/woman and a killer. While still wearing gorgeous dresses (I WANT HER DRESSES GUYS. Okay, so I have no occasion to wear dresses like that, but one day when I’m a famous author going to the premiere of my book turned into a film I can wear her dresses! A girl can dream right?).

So, have you read Throne of Glass? Do you love Celaena as much as I do and do you agree with me that she is awesome and a great role model? Let me know in the comments!

– Michelle

8 thoughts on “Celaena Sardothien: Assassin With Dresses Suited for the Red Carpet

  1. Melody says:

    Haha, the first person that pops into my head when I saw this week’s topic IS Hermione.

    For Throne of Glass, I’m actually that much of a fan, (there’s too much (unnecessary) romance for my liking, and the writing felt weird) BUT I do appreciate Celaena’s kick-assery and her personality. When most “strong” heroines are like “ew dresses no, ew jewellery”, it’s really nice to see characters like Celaena. To be fair though, those heroines who don’t dress themselves up or spend time thinking about pretty things are probably too busy fending off and running away from their enemies, and pants are always better for combat. I like the idea that kick-assery and liking being pretty coexist, they just need to know their priorities (which Celaena does, if I’m remembering this correctly.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • thewritinghufflepuff says:

      Haha right?! I was too late to claim her haha.
      Pants are definitely better for combat (when she goes to kill someone she wears pants) and yeah, Celeana knows her priorities 🙂 I just like that Celaena shows that you can be kick-ass and feminine, as a lot of people think that you can’t be both!

      Like

  2. iloveheartlandx says:

    I have to admit Hermione was the first person to come into my head when I saw this week’s topic too. I do love Celeana too though, I did a similar sort of post to this last Friday, explaining why I love her. It took me a while to warm up to her though, I have to admit. But the fact that she’s so badass and yet still cares about looking nice is one of the reasons I love her.

    Liked by 1 person

Have your say

