The Start of it all – Emma Watson

Hi guys! Emily from Alwaysopinionatedgirl here.

When we first came up with the idea of talking about famous feminists, I knew exactly who I wanted to talk about, the woman who started it all, Emma Watson. It is thanks to her that this blog even exists. We were talking on the bloggers chat on Twitter and I brought up Emma Watson, who then got us on to feminism and eventually the idea of creating The Feministas.
Before I even begin to start, I would suggest you let Emma speak for herself and watch her speech as the UN Women Global Goodwill Ambassador.

She speaks so beautifully and powerfully with so much power and emotion. I couldn’t think of anyone better to stand up and give such a speech.
For me, it seems only right that the girl who inspired me as a child, playing the role of Hermione Granger, goes on to not only inspire me and other Potterheads, but the UN and the rest of the world.
If you’ve watched her speech, you know that she raises some really interesting and carefully thought out points. Some of my favourite quotations from her speech include:

I realized that fighting for women’s rights has too often become synonymous with man-hating. If there is one thing I know for certain, it is that this has to stop. For the record, feminism by definition is the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities. It is the theory of political, economic and social equality of the sexes.

Both men and women should feel free to be sensitive. Both men and women should feel free to be strong. It is time that we all perceive gender on a spectrum, instead of two sets of opposing ideals. If we stop defining each other by what we are not, and start defining ourselves by who we are, we can all be freer, and this is what HeForShe is about. It’s about freedom.

 I feel it is my responsibility to say something.Statesman Edmund Burke said, “All that is needed for the forces of evil to triumph is for good men and women to do nothing.” In my nervousness for this speech and in my moments of doubt, I told myself firmly, “If not me, who? If not now, when?” If you have similar doubts when opportunities are presented to you, I hope those words will be helpful.

Hermione Granger inspired, inspires and will continue to inspire me. But now, I feel equally inspired and challenged by the brilliant woman who helped.

For me, Emma hits the nail on the head when she describes feminism. We often shy away from this word that has become almost taboo. However as she so clearly state, the word doesn’t matter. What matters is the sentiment behind it.

Emma Watson has not only redefined the word feminism, but she has made me think about who I am as a feminist and how feminism affects my life and the lives of others around me.

So I’d like to end with a thank you and a challenge.

First, a thank you to Emma. Thank you so much for such an inspiring and thought provoking speech. I couldn’t think of a better UN Women Global Goodwill Ambassador.

Second, a challenge for each and every one of you reading this. Tell someone you’re a feminist. It doesn’t matter who they are and remember, ‘If not you, who? If not now, when?’ You never know, you might find out new things about people and teach someone that feminism is about equality, not man-hating.

13 thoughts on “The Start of it all – Emma Watson

  1. Luna Cooler says:

    I don’t understand what it means by perceiving gender on a spectrum. Did she mean it as in, genders don’t have to be confined to certain characteristics–such as being tough for the boys?

    Like

Have your say

