Tavi Gevinson and Teenage Feminism

Hi!

To formally introduce myself, my name is Bella. A frequent contributor across the blogging community {most notably my personal site, Ciao Bella}, I couldn’t be happier to join the The Feministas. In the hectic last few weeks of the school year, I prioritized studying for finals – giving me less time for blogging – but now that I am on summer break, I am delighted to devote more time to this amazing collaboration. I am so excited to work with this lovely and intelligent bunch, and I speak for all of us when I thank you for your support thus far!

{via}

Anyhoo, to continue with our celebrity feminist feature, I would like to share my own gender equality inspiration: Tavi Gevinson. Though she is not one who would typically be considered a “celebrity,” she is a star in her own right: she began her career with her fashion blog, The Style Rookie, at the age of eleven, launched the popular online magazine, Rookie, four years later, and has since taken on Hollywood and Broadway as a young adult in movies such as Enough Said and the play, This is Our Youth.

Tavi is clearly talented, but I respect her even more for her take on the modern definition of feminism. She stated in a 2013 Vogue interview: “Feminism to me means fighting. It’s a very nuanced, complex thing, but at the very core of it I’m a feminist because I don’t think being a girl limits me in any way.” The feminist movement, as Tavi recognizes and so eloquently explains, is complex; it is not a black-and-white set of beliefs, but rather, a term founded on the idea of gender equality. I love that she speaks so openly about the subject, and it makes me giddy to see her discuss the topic with other young and note-worthy feminists.

Tavi Gevinson and Rookie Magazine

{via}

Furthermore, as founder of Rookie magazine, Tavi has created a platform of discussion for a multitude of heavy, societal issues. She and the other writers of the publication share articles on both light and heavy topics and interviews with inspiring individuals in pop culture, all of which have helped shape today’s feminist movement. I look forward to buying my Rookie yearbook each year, as the magazine truly captures the essence of teenage feminism.

Feminism is confusing. It’s difficult. It’s certainly controversial. Most importantly, however, it’s personal. There’s no right “way” to be a feminist, an idea Tavi has often stated herself:

I think one thing that can be very alienating about a misconception of feminism is that girls then think that to be a feminist, they have to live up to being perfectly consistent in your beliefs, never being insecure, never having doubts, having all of the answers. And this is not true, and, actually, reconciling all the contradictions I was feeling became easier once I understood that feminism was not a rulebook but a discussion, a conversation, a process. {via her TED talk

In just a few brief sentences, Tavi touches on something I believe everyone experiences, regardless of their gender, age, or beliefs: the search for the answers to life.

Let’s discuss! Have you read Rookie before? Who do you consider your feminist inspiration? {And if you want to hear more of Tavi’s work, I highly recommend listening to her TED talk, above, or watching this short video on the MAKERS website}.

I love visitors, so be sure to stop by and say hello! Ciao Bella | Twitter

12 thoughts on “Tavi Gevinson and Teenage Feminism

Have your say

